bluesky.git
5 years agoAdd proper per-file copyright notices/licenses and top-level license. master
Michael Vrable [Thu, 29 Oct 2015 05:16:39 +0000 (22:16 -0700)]
Add proper per-file copyright notices/licenses and top-level license.

This doesn't cover 100% of files but should clarify licensing for most Blue
Sky files.  Files written entirely by me were written while at the
Univeristy of California, San Diego and may be used under a BSD or GPLv2
license.  Some imported files may be under alternate licenses.

5 years agoDelete old libs3 sources.
Michael Vrable [Wed, 28 Oct 2015 04:22:57 +0000 (21:22 -0700)]
Delete old libs3 sources.

5 years agoFix BlueSky build on modern Linux and libs3.
Michael Vrable [Wed, 28 Oct 2015 04:19:49 +0000 (21:19 -0700)]
Fix BlueSky build on modern Linux and libs3.

  - Update S3_initialize calls to current API (3-argument form).
  - Minor CMakeLists updates.
  - dirfd is now a system function so avoid that name in our code.

5 years agoUpdate kvstore sources for current protobuf compiler and boost libraries.
Michael Vrable [Wed, 28 Oct 2015 04:12:47 +0000 (21:12 -0700)]
Update kvstore sources for current protobuf compiler and boost libraries.

5 years agoImport latest libs3 as a git submodule.
Michael Vrable [Wed, 28 Oct 2015 03:56:15 +0000 (20:56 -0700)]
Import latest libs3 as a git submodule.

9 years agognuplot settings for presentation versions of figures
Michael Vrable [Thu, 1 Mar 2012 05:34:40 +0000 (21:34 -0800)]
gnuplot settings for presentation versions of figures

9 years agoUpdate figure with new data and fix legend placement
Michael Vrable [Sun, 22 Jan 2012 20:36:53 +0000 (12:36 -0800)]
Update figure with new data and fix legend placement

9 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git+ssh://niniel.sysnet.ucsd.edu/home/mvrable/local/bluesky
Michael Vrable [Sun, 22 Jan 2012 20:20:30 +0000 (12:20 -0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of git+ssh://niniel.sysnet.ucsd.edu/home/mvrable/local/bluesky

9 years agoUpdated bandwidth-constrained SPECsfs experiments
Michael Vrable [Sun, 22 Jan 2012 20:26:51 +0000 (12:26 -0800)]
Updated bandwidth-constrained SPECsfs experiments

9 years agoMove legend in a figure to make it more readable
Michael Vrable [Sun, 22 Jan 2012 03:52:48 +0000 (19:52 -0800)]
Move legend in a figure to make it more readable

9 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git+ssh://niniel.sysnet.ucsd.edu/home/mvrable/local/bluesky
Michael Vrable [Sun, 22 Jan 2012 03:45:43 +0000 (19:45 -0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of git+ssh://niniel.sysnet.ucsd.edu/home/mvrable/local/bluesky

9 years agoDocument a few more benchmark runs
Michael Vrable [Sun, 22 Jan 2012 03:45:28 +0000 (19:45 -0800)]
Document a few more benchmark runs

9 years agoTraffic limiter configuration for downlink direction
Michael Vrable [Sat, 21 Jan 2012 23:42:17 +0000 (15:42 -0800)]
Traffic limiter configuration for downlink direction

9 years agoUpdate figures to include 100 Mbps results.
Michael Vrable [Tue, 17 Jan 2012 02:09:58 +0000 (18:09 -0800)]
Update figures to include 100 Mbps results.

9 years agoAdd x-axis labels to the cleaner experiment plot
Michael Vrable [Mon, 16 Jan 2012 04:50:15 +0000 (20:50 -0800)]
Add x-axis labels to the cleaner experiment plot

9 years agoAdd results with 100 Mbps network bandwidth
Michael Vrable [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 16:39:12 +0000 (08:39 -0800)]
Add results with 100 Mbps network bandwidth

9 years agoTry out a fix for timeouts with limited bandwidth to cloud.
Michael Vrable [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 05:30:02 +0000 (21:30 -0800)]
Try out a fix for timeouts with limited bandwidth to cloud.

Delay writes for a short time (10 s) but not indefinitely.

9 years agoMore SPECsfs runs, this time with limited bandwidth.
Michael Vrable [Tue, 10 Jan 2012 05:29:48 +0000 (21:29 -0800)]
More SPECsfs runs, this time with limited bandwidth.

9 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git+ssh://niniel.sysnet.ucsd.edu/home/mvrable/local/bluesky
Michael Vrable [Mon, 26 Sep 2011 08:23:59 +0000 (01:23 -0700)]
Merge branch 'master' of git+ssh://niniel.sysnet.ucsd.edu/home/mvrable/local/bluesky

9 years agoUpdate cleaner experiment plot
Michael Vrable [Mon, 26 Sep 2011 08:23:49 +0000 (01:23 -0700)]
Update cleaner experiment plot

9 years agoMerge ssh://vrable1.sysnet.ucsd.edu/scratch/bluesky
Michael Vrable [Mon, 26 Sep 2011 08:23:16 +0000 (01:23 -0700)]
Merge ssh://vrable1.sysnet.ucsd.edu/scratch/bluesky

9 years agoAdd a couple of new microbenchmarks
Michael Vrable [Mon, 26 Sep 2011 08:21:30 +0000 (01:21 -0700)]
Add a couple of new microbenchmarks

9 years agoCleaner experiment results
Michael Vrable [Mon, 26 Sep 2011 07:16:24 +0000 (00:16 -0700)]
Cleaner experiment results

9 years agoHave cleaner wait on proxy when needed
Michael Vrable [Mon, 26 Sep 2011 04:36:12 +0000 (21:36 -0700)]
Have cleaner wait on proxy when needed

9 years agoCleaner updates
Michael Vrable [Mon, 26 Sep 2011 03:40:35 +0000 (20:40 -0700)]
Cleaner updates

9 years agoNew benchmarks results: writes with 10 Mbps-constrained network
Michael Vrable [Sun, 25 Sep 2011 19:36:51 +0000 (12:36 -0700)]
New benchmarks results: writes with 10 Mbps-constrained network

9 years agoMake cleaner cache persistent across runs
Michael Vrable [Mon, 19 Sep 2011 06:09:44 +0000 (23:09 -0700)]
Make cleaner cache persistent across runs

9 years agoUpdated kernel compile benchmark results
Michael Vrable [Mon, 19 Sep 2011 06:09:27 +0000 (23:09 -0700)]
Updated kernel compile benchmark results

10 years agoEmbed fonts in generated plots
Michael Vrable [Thu, 19 May 2011 05:54:04 +0000 (22:54 -0700)]
Embed fonts in generated plots

10 years agoUpdating synthetic read plot with newer data
Michael Vrable [Wed, 18 May 2011 22:16:44 +0000 (15:16 -0700)]
Updating synthetic read plot with newer data

10 years agoUpdated synread benchmarks
Michael Vrable [Wed, 18 May 2011 19:41:19 +0000 (12:41 -0700)]
Updated synread benchmarks

10 years agoCommit update benchmark results
Michael Vrable [Tue, 17 May 2011 21:55:04 +0000 (14:55 -0700)]
Commit update benchmark results

10 years agoMore SPECsfs results
Michael Vrable [Mon, 9 May 2011 18:53:22 +0000 (11:53 -0700)]
More SPECsfs results

10 years agoOld SPECsfs runs
Michael Vrable [Sat, 30 Apr 2011 16:08:56 +0000 (09:08 -0700)]
Old SPECsfs runs

10 years agoAdd in some new SPECsfs runs
Michael Vrable [Sun, 10 Apr 2011 21:59:03 +0000 (14:59 -0700)]
Add in some new SPECsfs runs

10 years agoRun more benchmarks
Michael Vrable [Sun, 10 Apr 2011 20:41:51 +0000 (13:41 -0700)]
Run more benchmarks

10 years agoUpdated synthetic write benchmark runs
Michael Vrable [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 23:11:31 +0000 (16:11 -0700)]
Updated synthetic write benchmark runs

10 years agoScripts and results for a few more benchmark runs
Michael Vrable [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 21:02:40 +0000 (14:02 -0700)]
Scripts and results for a few more benchmark runs

10 years agoUpdate SPECsfs results for Azure
Michael Vrable [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 21:02:19 +0000 (14:02 -0700)]
Update SPECsfs results for Azure

10 years agoAdd an updated Azure run
Michael Vrable [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 20:54:43 +0000 (13:54 -0700)]
Add an updated Azure run

10 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git+ssh://niniel.sysnet.ucsd.edu/home/mvrable/local/bluesky
Michael Vrable [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 20:50:08 +0000 (13:50 -0700)]
Merge branch 'master' of git+ssh://niniel.sysnet.ucsd.edu/home/mvrable/local/bluesky

10 years agoCheck in miscellaneous updates
Michael Vrable [Tue, 5 Apr 2011 20:49:58 +0000 (13:49 -0700)]
Check in miscellaneous updates

10 years agoFix a flipped comparison in the memory pressure calculation
Michael Vrable [Thu, 31 Mar 2011 22:06:14 +0000 (15:06 -0700)]
Fix a flipped comparison in the memory pressure calculation

We were almost always saying there was too much dirty data that needed to
be flushed.  Now, also print out debugging messages when memory pressure is
detected stating what we have found, exactly.

10 years agoTool to measure 32kb read latencies via the kernel
Michael Vrable [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 23:49:37 +0000 (16:49 -0700)]
Tool to measure 32kb read latencies via the kernel

10 years agoResults updates
Michael Vrable [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 17:20:35 +0000 (10:20 -0700)]
Results updates

10 years agoAdd four-way latency comparison (NFS and CIFS)
Michael Vrable [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 09:24:08 +0000 (02:24 -0700)]
Add four-way latency comparison (NFS and CIFS)

10 years agoTurn down debugging.
Michael Vrable [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 08:34:33 +0000 (01:34 -0700)]
Turn down debugging.

10 years agoYet another cleaner bugfix.
Michael Vrable [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 08:31:28 +0000 (01:31 -0700)]
Yet another cleaner bugfix.

10 years agoPrepare for another run of the synthetic read benchmark
Michael Vrable [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 08:24:42 +0000 (01:24 -0700)]
Prepare for another run of the synthetic read benchmark

10 years agoFix another cleaner bug
Michael Vrable [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 07:08:33 +0000 (00:08 -0700)]
Fix another cleaner bug

10 years agoCleaner fix part 1
Michael Vrable [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 06:27:42 +0000 (23:27 -0700)]
Cleaner fix part 1

10 years agoBug fix in the in-proxy cleaner component
Michael Vrable [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 05:38:05 +0000 (22:38 -0700)]
Bug fix in the in-proxy cleaner component

10 years agoCheck in the synthetic write benchmark results
Michael Vrable [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 04:18:53 +0000 (21:18 -0700)]
Check in the synthetic write benchmark results

10 years agoDump some statistics when the cleaner runs
Michael Vrable [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 04:18:12 +0000 (21:18 -0700)]
Dump some statistics when the cleaner runs

10 years agoScript for randomly writing files to generate work for a cleaner
Michael Vrable [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 00:02:55 +0000 (17:02 -0700)]
Script for randomly writing files to generate work for a cleaner

10 years agoRe-run synthetic writes with different parameter values
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 21:26:45 +0000 (14:26 -0700)]
Re-run synthetic writes with different parameter values

10 years agoMore bench fixes
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 18:54:50 +0000 (11:54 -0700)]
More bench fixes

10 years agoBenchmark fix--mount the file system to write to it
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 18:45:25 +0000 (11:45 -0700)]
Benchmark fix--mount the file system to write to it

10 years agoMore benchmark fixes
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 18:41:00 +0000 (11:41 -0700)]
More benchmark fixes

10 years agoInclude elapsed time in write benchmark
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 18:38:56 +0000 (11:38 -0700)]
Include elapsed time in write benchmark

10 years agoSynwrite benchmark setup
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 18:35:06 +0000 (11:35 -0700)]
Synwrite benchmark setup

10 years agoSet up synthetic write benchmark.
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 18:32:22 +0000 (11:32 -0700)]
Set up synthetic write benchmark.

10 years agoCIFS results
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 17:26:38 +0000 (10:26 -0700)]
CIFS results

10 years agoUpdates to synthetic read data processing script
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 17:15:55 +0000 (10:15 -0700)]
Updates to synthetic read data processing script

10 years agoAdd write throttling based on the size of the uncommitted journal
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 17:12:28 +0000 (10:12 -0700)]
Add write throttling based on the size of the uncommitted journal

Previously, throttling was based only on data in memory not committed to
the journal.  With limited upload bandwidth to the cloud, we need both.

10 years agoMerge git+ssh://idril.vpn.vrable.net/home/mvrable/local/bluesky
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 17:12:09 +0000 (10:12 -0700)]
Merge git+ssh://idril.vpn.vrable.net/home/mvrable/local/bluesky

10 years agoUpdate write benchmark
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 10:12:14 +0000 (03:12 -0700)]
Update write benchmark

10 years agoCreate a simple tool for measuring latencies of write operations
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 09:59:19 +0000 (02:59 -0700)]
Create a simple tool for measuring latencies of write operations

There is no explicit sync, but NFS has an implicit one on file close()
which should be good enough for benchmarking.

10 years agoAdd figures for synthetic read benchmark
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 07:01:40 +0000 (00:01 -0700)]
Add figures for synthetic read benchmark

10 years agoAdd notes on using a traffic limiter for benchmarks
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 04:54:37 +0000 (21:54 -0700)]
Add notes on using a traffic limiter for benchmarks

10 years agoCheck in and clean up repository
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 04:02:50 +0000 (21:02 -0700)]
Check in and clean up repository

10 years agoPrepare to fill in more synthetic read data points
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 02:38:01 +0000 (19:38 -0700)]
Prepare to fill in more synthetic read data points

10 years agoPrepare for re-run of synthetic test with more clients
Michael Vrable [Thu, 17 Mar 2011 00:00:37 +0000 (17:00 -0700)]
Prepare for re-run of synthetic test with more clients

10 years agoError message fix
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 22:20:09 +0000 (15:20 -0700)]
Error message fix

10 years agoFix cache sizes for run
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 22:06:35 +0000 (15:06 -0700)]
Fix cache sizes for run

10 years agoPrepare for first real synthetic read benchmark
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 22:01:58 +0000 (15:01 -0700)]
Prepare for first real synthetic read benchmark

10 years agosynread script updates
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 21:05:12 +0000 (14:05 -0700)]
synread script updates

10 years agoTry to improve parallelism of synreadbench warmup phase
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 20:46:01 +0000 (13:46 -0700)]
Try to improve parallelism of synreadbench warmup phase

10 years agoBenchmark setup
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 20:39:49 +0000 (13:39 -0700)]
Benchmark setup

10 years agoReport average latency in synbench
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 20:23:00 +0000 (13:23 -0700)]
Report average latency in synbench

10 years agoMore benchmark setup
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 20:13:58 +0000 (13:13 -0700)]
More benchmark setup

10 years agoSetup for the synthetic read benchmark
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 19:54:43 +0000 (12:54 -0700)]
Setup for the synthetic read benchmark

10 years agoAdd a mode for warming up the proxy cache before a synthetic benchmark
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 19:31:09 +0000 (12:31 -0700)]
Add a mode for warming up the proxy cache before a synthetic benchmark

10 years agoMore work on the synthetic read benchmark
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 18:56:55 +0000 (11:56 -0700)]
More work on the synthetic read benchmark

10 years agoWork on the synthetic read benchmark
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 17:24:19 +0000 (10:24 -0700)]
Work on the synthetic read benchmark

10 years agoInclude no read aggregation data in graph
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 15:37:29 +0000 (08:37 -0700)]
Include no read aggregation data in graph

10 years agoMore SPECsfs runs
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 15:16:12 +0000 (08:16 -0700)]
More SPECsfs runs

10 years agoWork on a tool for a synthetic read benchmark
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 08:32:49 +0000 (01:32 -0700)]
Work on a tool for a synthetic read benchmark

10 years agoAdd an option to disable aggregating reads in the proxy
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 02:50:36 +0000 (19:50 -0700)]
Add an option to disable aggregating reads in the proxy

This is for benchmarking purposes.  It uses range requests but does not
delay submitting the reads (to wait for batching opportunities).

10 years agoMinor changes to graphs and benchmark control scripts
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 00:15:15 +0000 (17:15 -0700)]
Minor changes to graphs and benchmark control scripts

10 years agoExtract wall clock timestamp of each run when parsing sfsres files
Michael Vrable [Wed, 16 Mar 2011 00:14:38 +0000 (17:14 -0700)]
Extract wall clock timestamp of each run when parsing sfsres files

10 years agoBenchmark results using more concurrent requests and no crypto
Michael Vrable [Tue, 15 Mar 2011 20:13:33 +0000 (13:13 -0700)]
Benchmark results using more concurrent requests and no crypto

10 years agoSPECsfs results from repeating the Azure measurements
Michael Vrable [Tue, 15 Mar 2011 04:37:23 +0000 (21:37 -0700)]
SPECsfs results from repeating the Azure measurements

10 years agoAdd an option to disable cryptographic operations
Michael Vrable [Tue, 15 Mar 2011 04:24:25 +0000 (21:24 -0700)]
Add an option to disable cryptographic operations

This is intended for benchmarking, to measure the overhead of just the
non-cryptographic operations.

10 years agoSpeed up the deletion of all files in an Azure container
Michael Vrable [Tue, 15 Mar 2011 03:56:08 +0000 (20:56 -0700)]
Speed up the deletion of all files in an Azure container

10 years agoNFS trace replay results
Michael Vrable [Tue, 15 Mar 2011 00:35:30 +0000 (17:35 -0700)]
NFS trace replay results

10 years agoMerge git+ssh://vrable1.sysnet.ucsd.edu/scratch/bluesky
Michael Vrable [Mon, 14 Mar 2011 22:00:13 +0000 (15:00 -0700)]
Merge git+ssh://vrable1.sysnet.ucsd.edu/scratch/bluesky

10 years agoRevert "Enable real-time trace replay instead of maximum-speed replay mode."
Michael Vrable [Mon, 14 Mar 2011 21:40:44 +0000 (14:40 -0700)]
Revert "Enable real-time trace replay instead of maximum-speed replay mode."

This reverts commit c0cab09e97b2c3fce55a743a978e4ea81b5ffbdb.

10 years agoCheck in new benchmark results
Michael Vrable [Mon, 14 Mar 2011 19:42:15 +0000 (12:42 -0700)]
Check in new benchmark results

10 years agoPlot updates
Michael Vrable [Mon, 14 Mar 2011 16:48:14 +0000 (09:48 -0700)]
Plot updates